Guest Blog – Sun and Skin Care

Whilst searching on WordPress we came across this wonderful blog of a woman who had skin cancer and is now taking extra measures to make sure she protects her skin. This blog is taken directly from her page, with her permission, a guide on how she takes care of her skin on a daily basis. Check out her page!! http://www.toenailsaresooverrated.com

Sun and skin care

Up until recently, I’ve already been a pretty low no maintenance girl. No makeup, haircuts only when I couldn’t cope with my split ends anymore. That sort of thing. Now that I’m being responsible about sunscreen, my routine has gotten a bit more complicated.

I slather my face with {1} CETAPHIL UVA/UVB Defense Moisturizer (SPF 50). It’s on the thick side and smells like sunscreen, which I’m not a fan of. When I tried it as my daily moisturizer, it made me breakout, so I use it strictly when I run since it’s got high SPF. For my body, I spray on {2} Coppertone Sport High Performance Spray. I can’t stand traditional lotion-based sunscreens. I find them to be a greasy hassle. While the Coppoertone Sport Spray isn’t totally grease-free, it’s easy to apply and doesn’t feel as gunky as lotions do.

In the shower, I wash my face with {1} Aveeno Clear Complexion Foaming Cleanser. I’m prone to breakouts and this seems to keep my skin mostly clear. After I dry off, I lotion up my body with {4} Eucerin Every Day Protective Moisturizing Body Lotion (SPF 15). I’ve been using {3} Aveeno Positively Radiant Daily Moisturizer (SPF 30 Fair To Light) on my face, but find that if I don’t put another lotion on first, it doesn’t spread well. Counterintuitive, I know, but I’ve got some heavy dry patches near my scar and using {2} Clinique Dramatically Different Moisturizing Lotion as a primer really seems to make the tinted Aveeno spread more evenly. The Clinique was my old moisturizer, but doesn’t have any SPF, which is why it was relegated to primer (and pre-bed). I have to say that I’m loving how the tinted moisturizer evens out my skin tone but doesn’t make it feel like I’m wearing heavy makeup.

Once I’m done sporting the silicone tape over my scar, I may mix things up depending on how well the tinted moisturizer covers the scar (or doesn’t!).

Leave a comment